

State Board of Private Licensed Schools CDL ELDT Licensure Exemption Attestation

CDL ELDT training providers who wish to be considered exempt from school licensure must adhere to specific training limitations.

In accordance with the Private Licensed Schools Act 174, 22 Pa. Code Chapter 73, and 49 CFR Part 380 Subpart F, all providers of ELDT (Entry Level Driver Training) must be licensed or registered (in the case of schools outside of Pennsylvania who advertise to Pennsylvania residents) by the State Board of Private Licensed Schools

There are only three types of ELDT training that do not require school licensure:

- Tuition-free and fee-free employer provided training. This allows ELDT training providers to provide training to their own employees at no cost to the employee. The employee at no time can be charged for the training even if the employee does not successfully complete the program and even if the employee does not meet employment longevity requirements. To meet this exemption the training provider must list themselves in the ELDT TRP as 'private enrollment only'.
- 2. Business-to-Business contract training. This allows ELDT training providers to provide training to another business's employees providing that the employer pays the training provider directly. At no time can the student be charged by the ELDT training provider. To meet this exemption the training provider must list themselves in the ELDT TRP as 'private enrollment only'.
- 3. Online theory instruction only. This allows ELDT theory-only training providers to provide theory training online. The training provider may not offer in-person theory or BTW training. To meet this exemption the training provider must list that they offer online theory training only in the ELDT TRP.

ELDT training providers who contend that they are exempt from licensure must complete this attestation and provide the corresponding requested evidence. Staff will review the information provided and will determine if a case of unlicensed activity will be presented to the Board's Review and Recommendation Panel for further consideration. Note: A finding of unlicensed activity carries a \$2,5000 civil penalty and a 5-year moratorium on licensure.

ATTESTATION

I attest that our CDL ELDT training and related business activities are conducted in the following manner and as such do not require licensure to operate a Private Licensed School.

Provide a detailed summary explanation of the training and related business activities that will be conducted.

I attest that I understand that without licensure to operate a Private Licensed School, as a CDL ELDT training provider we can only offer tuition-free and fee-free employer provided training to our employees, business-to-business contract training, and/or online theory instruction only.

I attest that I understand that without licensure to operate a Private Licensed School, as a CDL ELDT training provider we cannot offer in-person theory instruction, ELDT tutoring or one-on-one instruction resulting in TPR attestation, or ELDT training where the student pays for their training either directly or indirectly (CareerLink, grants, scholarships, etc.).

I attest that I understand that without licensure to operate a Private Licensed School, as a CDL ELDT training provider we will confirm prior to entering into any agreement with a financial assistance agency, that will provide funding on behalf of students, that licensure to operate a Private Licensed School is not required.

I attest that I understand that without licensure to operate a Private Licensed School, as a CDL ELDT training provider if we enter into an agreement with a financial assistance agency who will pay in-full or inpart for an individual to be trained, we may not charge the student for any fees or tuition that are not covered by the assisting agency. This includes any fees or tuition not covered if the student does not successfully complete the program or discontinues.

I attest that our CDL ELDT TRP registration will remain 'private enrollment only'.

I attest that I have provided evidence of the 'private enrollment only' status on the TPR.

Training provider name:

TPR registered name:

Training location(s) include the school location and any remote locations:

- 1. Street, City, State, and Zip Code:
- 2. Street, City, State, and Zip Code:
- 3. Street, City, State, and Zip Code:

Name (printed):

Email:

Signature and Position Title:

Date:

This form must be printed out and signed, digital signatures are not acceptable.