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Establishing a Private Driver Training School  

Thank you for your inquiry concerning the procedure for establishing a private driver training school 

(PDTS).  

 Chapter 101, Rules and Regulations pertain to the operation of a PDTS.  

 Act 605 of 1951 (PDF) established the requirement to be licensed to operate a PDTS.  

The following items are required for starting a PDTS:  

1. A place in which to work (business location).  

 

2. Each proprietor, each member of a partnership or each officer and director of a corporation that 

owns a school, who is directly connected with the conduct and operation of the education program 

must submit:  

 A statement certifying that the applicant is of good moral character and at least 18 years of 

age.  

 A list of names, addresses and daytime telephone numbers of three persons serving as 

character references, none of whom are related to the applicant or are in any way connected to 

the school.  

 A statement certifying that persons employed by and/or directly connected with the conduct 

and operation of schools are not addicted to the use of alcoholic liquors, morphine, cocaine or 

other drugs that have a similar effect.  

3. Registration of a fictitious name with the Department of State if you use a name other than your 

own for the school.  

 

 Department of State Forms  

 

4. One check or money order to cover all fees and made payable to the Pennsylvania Department 

of Revenue :  

Initial school fee of $500.00 (Annual renewal fee of $300.00) 

Initial instructor fee of $30.00 (Annual renewal fee of $20.00) 

Initial vehicle fee of $10.00 (Annual renewal fee of $5.00) 

Initial agent fee of $5.00. (Annual renewal fee of $5.00) 

5. Certificate of Occupancy, per regulations, for indoor instructional areas where five or more students 

will be taught at the same time.  

 

  

http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/022/chapter101/chap101toc.html
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt?open=18&objID=356397&mode=2
http://www.dos.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/community/corporations/12457/forms/571880
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6. Each member of the professional staff must submit the following to this office for approval:  

 A completed Professional Staff Application, PDE 5017, Application must be signed by the owner, 

director or chief executive officer of the driving school and be notarized.  

 A list of names, addresses and daytime telephone numbers of three persons serving as 

character references, none of whom are related to the applicant or are in any way connected to 

the school in which the applicant is seeking employment.  

 A copy of the applicant's Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance that is less than one year 

of age. Pennsylvania Child Abuse History Clearance Application  

 The applicant's original Three-Year Driving Abstract from the Pennsylvania Department of 

Transportation that is less than one year of age. Form DL-503, Request for Driver Information 

(PDF)  

 Pennsylvania State Police Request for Criminal Record Check.  

 Evidence that each teacher and director applicant received a passing score of 75% or better on 

the theoretical examination administered by this office, unless exempt per regulations.  

 Evidence that each teacher and director applicant successfully completed a practical 

examination administered by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation after successfully 

completing the theoretical examination, unless exempt per regulations.  

7. Documentary evidence that the PDTS owner or director has a minimum of two years of successful 

driver education teaching experience in a private driver training school, private high school or 

public high school. The documentary evidence shall set forth the names of the schools or classes 

and the place, dates and length of instructional service, including a statement from the official head 

of the school or class certifying that the teaching experience was successful and attesting to the 

place, dates and length of the service.  

 

8. A car or truck used for practical driver training may not be more than 8 years old or have more 

than 80,000 miles, whichever occurs later. A vehicle is not needed if a driving school is approved 

for theory instruction only. The vehicle must be equipped with:  

 an operable extra brake pedal and in the case of vehicles equipped with standard transmission 

an operable extra clutch pedal,  

 a defroster and h eater in working order,  

 a rear-view mirror placed on the inside of the car in the vicinity of the cowl and two outside 

rear-view mirrors, one on each side of the vehicle and  

 cushions for the proper seating of the student.  

9. Certificate of Insurance, if approved for behind-the-wheel instruction, showing the certificate holder 

as: Pennsylvania Department of Education, Private Driver Training Schools, 333 Market Street, 

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17126-0333. The certificate must show the vehicle identification number, 

type and amount of vehicle insurance, and the effective dates of the coverage. 

 

10. A course outline detailing objectives for each hour of classroom instruction and/or behind-the-

wheel instruction. Please be certain to include the following specific topics:  

 school bus safety,  

 railroad crossings,  

 pedestrian and bicycle safety and  

 entering and exiting limited access highways.  

 

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;/www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_148494_1343349_0_0_18/Private%20Driver%20Training%20School%20%20Professional%20Staff%20Application.pdf
http://www.dpw.state.pa.us/findaform/childabusehistoryclearanceforms/index.htm
http://www.dmv.state.pa.us/pdotforms/dl_forms/DL-503.pdf
https://epatch.state.pa.us/
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11. The following completed applications must be submitted to this office for approval:  

 Application for a License to Conduct a Private Driver Training School, PDE 1017, must be 

submitted for each licensed school site. 

 Vehicle Application, PDE 1016, must be submitted if your school will be providing practical 

instruction. 

 Professional Staff Application, PDE 5017, must be submitted for each agent, teacher or driving 

school director.  

Private driver training schools contracting with public schools are required to utilize teachers 

licensed by their driving schools who meet the statutory requirements as outlined below in Section 

1519 of the Public School Code. 

 § 15-1519. Teaching of safe driving of motor vehicles  

(a) Any school district may provide for the teaching of safe driving of motor vehicles in the 

elementary and secondary schools of the district or in the secondary schools only, in 

accordance with the standardized program established by the Department of Public Instruction. 

In the case of pupils under the age of sixteen (16) years, such instruction shall be limited to 

class room instruction by those who shall possess the qualifications prescribed by the State 

Board of Education. In the case of pupils of the age of sixteen (16) years and over, the 

instruction may include practical instruction in the operation of motor vehicles on the public 

highways, or other places, selected by the board of school directors or by the principal of the 

school where the instruction is given. 

(b) The board of school directors may employ and fix the compensation of qualified persons to 

teach the practical operation of motor vehicles on the highways, or elsewhere, who shall 

possess the qualifications prescribed by the State Board of Education. Teacher aides may be 

used in the practice driving phase of the standardized program in the public schools of the 

Commonwealth. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall, upon the request of the local 

chief school administrator for employment of a teacher aide, provide for an oral examination, a 

written theoretical examination and a practical examination. In addition, the applicant shall 

possess the following qualifications: (1) satisfactory completion of the examination provided by 

the Superintendent of Public Instruction, (2) possess a high school diploma, (3) have a motor 

vehicle operator's record free of violation of "The Vehicle Code" and other traffic laws and free 

of accidents, (4) completed a three-credit course in driver education, (5) shall complete an 

additional nine hours of credit in General and Traffic Safety Education within a three year period 

of employment, and (6) shall be eligible according to the provisions in section 1209 of the 

"Public School Code of 1949." 

 

http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;/www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_148494_1359688_0_0_18/Application%20for%20a%20License%20to%20Conduct%20a%20Private%20Driver%20Training%20School.pdf
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_123625_1244099_0_0_18/PDTS%20Vehicle%20Application%201016%202010.pdf
http://www.portal.state.pa.us/portal/http;/www.portal.state.pa.us;80/portal/server.pt/gateway/PTARGS_0_148494_1343349_0_0_18/Private%20Driver%20Training%20School%20%20Professional%20Staff%20Application.pdf

