Begin Main Content Area

Charter Appeal Board Members

Noe Ortega, Acting Secretary of Education, and Chair, State Charter Appeal Board, as of October 1, 2020.  
​Name ​Appointed ​Expires
Higher Education Member - Vacant
Sara Hockenberry, Counsel

Pursuant to section 1721-A of the Charter School Law, the term of office of members of the appeal board, other than the Secretary, shall be for a period of four years or until a successor is appointed and qualified. 24 P.S. § 17-1721-A.

Please direct all media inquiries to the Pennsylvania Department of Education’s Press and Communications Office: or 717- 783-9802.