Begin Main Content Area

​PA Hunger-Free Campus+

Institutions that are implementing additional innovative solutions to address student hunger and other basic needs for their campus community, in conjunction with demonstrating the criteria below, may also be eligible to receive the PA Hunger-Free Campus+ designation, in recognition of their leadership in the area of college student food security.

Possible initiatives that may warrant PA Hunger-Free+ designation include (but are not limited to):

  • Offering a variety of meal plans, including an option that provides 10 or fewer meals weekly to avoid interfering with SNAP eligibility
  • Creating or implementing meal sharing programs.
  • Educating student leaders on campus to create student-centered programs; or
  • Facilitating innovative community partnerships

To achieve the PA Hunger-Free Campus designation, institutions must certify and be able to demonstrate that they meet the following criteria:

  1. The institution has a method to directly connect students to food options through one or more of the following: an on-campus food pantry, a local community-based food pantry, or a food delivery program.
  2. The institution has strategies in place to increase awareness of the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) eligibility rules for students, focuses SNAP outreach on potentially eligible students, and helps students apply for SNAP and other benefits.
    • Note: it is strongly recommended that institutions connect with the PA Department of Human Services and consider enrolling as a COMPASS Community partner.
  3. The institution has a task force that meets on a regular basis to address basic needs initiatives, including hunger, and raises awareness among students using an equity, inclusion, and belonging (PDF) lens. The task force includes students, faculty, financial aid staff, student support staff, and at least one member of institutional leadership (Cabinet, Vice President, etc.).
  4. The institution collects and reports data to the college/university community and/or state on student food insecurity, such as participation in the Hope Center's #RealCollege Survey.
​Institution​Contact
​Bidwell Training Center​Audra Pavloski, Director Student Services
apavloski@manchesterbidwell.org
412-323-4000
​Bucks County Community CollegeDr. ​Dekia Smith, Interim Dean of Students
dekia.smith@bucks.edu215-968-8139
​Cabrini University​Dr. Laura Chisolm, Executive Director of Grants and Foundation Relations
lc10605@cabrini.edu
610-902-8231
​Duquesne University​Adam T. Wasilko, Dean of Students
wasilkoa@duq.edu
412-396-6657
​East Stroudsburg University of PennsylvaniaLaura Suits-Dolan, Interim Coordinator of Health & Wellness
lsuits@esu.edu
570-422-3298
​Indiana University of Pennsylvania​Dr. Malaika Turner, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs
mmturn@iup.edu
724-357-2220
​King's College​Bill Bolan, Director, Shoval Center for Community Engagement and Learning
williambolan@kings.edu
570-208-8058
​Kutztown University​Donavan McCargo, Interim Vice President of Enrollment Management & Student Affairs
enrollmentmgmtstudentaffiars@kutztown.org
610-683-4328
​Millersville University​Dr. Mary Beth Williams, Vice President for Student Affairs, ​OfficeofStudentAffairs@millersville.edu
​Moore College of Art and Design​Joshua Wilkin, Dean of Students
jwilkin@moore.edu
215-965-4038
​Moravian University​Greg Meyer, Dean for Community Wellness
meyerg@moravian.edu
610-861-1503
​Neumann University​Rina Keller, Co-Chair
Social Work Professor and Co-Chair, Knights' Pantry
kellerr@neumann.edu
610-361-5211
​Pennsylvania Western University​Diane Hasbrouck, Associate Director of Student Development and Engagement
hasbrouck_d@pennwest.edu
724-938-4794
​Point Park University​Heather Starr Fiedler, Chair, Community Engagement & Leadership
hstarr@pointpark.edu
412-392-3216
​Seton Hill University​Linda Morlacci, Director of Foundation, Government & Corporate Relations
lmorlacci@setonhill.edu
724-838-4232
​Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania​Karla M. Fonner, Dean of Students
karla.fonner@sru.edu
724-738-2953
​The University of the Arts​Sara Pyle, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
spyle@uarts.edu
215-717-6627
​University of Pittsburgh​Dr. Jay E. Darr, Associate Dean of Student Wellness
jay.darr@pitt.edu
412-648-1006
​West Chester University​Dr. Elizabeth Munz, Associate Professor
emunz@wcupa.edu
610-436-1532