Begin Main Content Area

​PA Hunger-Free Campus

To achieve the PA Hunger-Free Campus designation, institutions must certify and be able to demonstrate that they meet the following criteria:

  1. The institution has a method to directly connect students to food options through one or more of the following: an on-campus food pantry, a local community-based food pantry, or a food delivery program.
  2. The institution has strategies in place to increase awareness of the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) eligibility rules for students, focuses SNAP outreach on potentially eligible students, and helps students apply for SNAP and other benefits.
    • Note: it is strongly recommended that institutions connect with the PA Department of Human Services and consider enrolling as a COMPASS Community partner.
  3. The institution has a task force that meets on a regular basis to address basic needs initiatives, including hunger, and raises awareness among students using an equity, inclusion, and belonging (PDF) lens. The task force includes students, faculty, financial aid staff, student support staff, and at least one member of institutional leadership (Cabinet, Vice President, etc.).
  4. The institution collects and reports data to the college/university community and/or state on student food insecurity, such as participation in the Hope Center's #RealCollege Survey.
​Institution ​Contact
Butler County Community College​​Karen Jack, KEYS Program Director
karen.jack@bc3.edu
724-287-8711 ext. 8378
​Cheyney University​Rosalyn Henderson, Director, TRIO SSS Programs
rhenderson@cheyney.edu
610-399-2647
​HACC: Central Pennsylvania's Community College​Nakia Perry, Director of CARE Center
nperry@hacc.edu
717-358-2288
​Lackawanna College​Katherine Gettmann, Manager of Student Life & Veteran Advisor
gettmannk@lackawanna.edu
570-961-7873
​Lehigh Carbon Community College
​Elizabeth Rivera, Community Resources and Basic Needs Specialist
erivera1@lccc.edu
610-799-1087
​Montgomery County Community College​Nichole Kang, Director, Wellness Center
nkang@mc3.edu
484-808-4223
​Orleans Technical CollegeDebbie Bello, Director of Admissions
Debbie.bello@orleanstech.edu215-728-4733
​Rosedale Technical College
​Kim Bell, Director of Student Enrollment and Outreach
kim.bell@rosedaletech.org
412-521-6200
​Successful Aging Care Net Inc
​Mr. Innocent Onwubiko, Director
admin@agingcarenet.com
267-455-8007